Oriental Poppies Painting by George O’Keeffe

image

Georgia O’Keeffe
Oriental Poppies (1928)
Weisman Art Museum, Minneapolis

“If I could paint the flower exactly as I see it no one would see what I see because I would paint it small like the flower is small. So I said to myself – I’ll paint it big… and they will be surprised.” O’Keeffe’s poppies are among her most famous works, the glossy red and orange flowers exploding on a canvas almost four feet wide. There is no background to distract from their sheer force of personality. Made in 1928, the painting is a vast close-up, pulling the eye into the dark heart of these flowers through the power of scale and colour

Photograph: Weisman Art Museum, Minnesota

One thought on “Oriental Poppies Painting by George O’Keeffe

Leave a Reply

